While mmy Chicago and Beacherland friends enjoy their unexpectedly warm weather, I am happy to say that the snow of Monday is long gone, and today is a springlike 70 degrees. Perfect for hiking or working outdoors. One friend of mine here at Pine Shadows is busy painting her home. Elsewhere, some workers are cutting down a pine tree. As for me, I treated a friend to breakfast after we hiked Dead Horse State Park this morning. Both the red-winged blackbirds and the blue herons made it known that they were content with this day.

I am in between semesters at OLLI, so I have time on my hands. I planted some hollyhocks yesterday, to add to the lilac bush and rose bushes and rosemary bushes. I’m hoping for bursts of color and  sweet fragrances to define my yard–instead of the javelina dung that those pesky pigs leave in my back yard. I am about ready to put up some chicken wire to keep them out. The coyote urine remedy has not worked so well.

Not having any pressing agenda is sweet for me, too. I am spending a little more time browsing the Web–something I do not do much of since resigning from my CyberScribbles column. Last week I had eyelid surgery and I have felt lazy ever since.

I still dream of Paris. I keep up with A French Frye In Paris, a blog that keeps me dreaming. One of the latest blog posts will trip an emotional trigger for anyone like me who longs to return. Read it here: http://afrenchfryeinparis.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/the-other-side-of-the-church/

One is surrounded by beauty here

